SUSD Live – Bonds

I’ll need to get some more explanation, but it appears SUSD will look to float a bond measure on the November ballot – in the $100 million range – to pay for technology upgrades throughout the district.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

SUSD Live – Pay raises

Trustees approved a 1.565 percent pay raise for management and other unrepresented groups.

It also approved a 3.5 percent raise for classified workers.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

SUSD Live – Public comment

Only SPPA Pres Bonnie Dixon and new teachers union president John Steiner spoke.

Dixon expressed anger that her group could only negotiate at 1.565 percent pay raise while classified workers are up for a 3.5 percent raise. She said some of her colleagues may leave the district because they feel a lack of respect.

Steiner urged the board to come to an agreement with the teacher’s union before the school year starts.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

SUSD Live – Ovation for Stagg MESA team

The Stagg High MESA team got a standing ovation. Here’s the story on their win in MESA

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

SUSD Live – About to start

SUSD Trustees haven’t come out of closed session yet, but they’re expected any moment. As people wait, some are drooling over a large chocolate cake on a table in the middle of the board room. The cake is to congratulate the Stagg High Mesa team, who won a national championship late last month.

Here is tonight’s agenda.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Union wants Arne Duncan to quit

The nations’s largest teachers union wants Secretary of Education Arne Duncan to resign according to the Associated Press. Here’s the Washington Post’s feed on the topic.  

The article says the “tipping point” for some in the union is that  Duncan spoke in support of a California judge’s ruling against teacher tenure laws



Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

SUSD board meeting agenda

Feel free to take your time over the three day weekend to read this: Stockton Unified’s Tuesday night agenda.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

UPDATE Upcoming SUSD information


SUSD’s second public hearing on the LCAP will now be held in conjunction with the District English Language Advisory Council meeting at 6 p.m. Monday at the Professional Development Center at 1503 St. Mark’s Plaza, which is at Pershing Avenue and March Lane.

Stockton Unified trustees are scheduled to vote on a final spending plan at the regular meeting at 7 p.m. Tuesday in the board room at 701 N. Madison Street.

I’m off from Wednesday until July 2, so I’ll be missing out. Look forward to hearing all the details when I get back.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Not Live LincolnUSD – Last night’s meeting

There was a small crowd for last night’s Lincoln Unified School District board meeting. The meeting lasted about 1 hour and 15 minutes before trustees went back into closed session.

Some topics from last night:

- Thomas Crocker has been hired as the district’s new Director of Special Education.

- Lincoln High will renovate its baseball and softball fields.

- The district will pay $40,000 to put its Trustee election on the November ballot. Three trustee seats will be up for grabs.

- Drug testing: Superintendent Tom Uslan gave a short presentation about the district’s drug testing program. He said some surveys were done of the athletes involved and that 33 percent of them said they chose to decline using drugs or alcohol because of the drug policy. 31 percent knew someone else who did. 56 percent said the online program with the policy was “useful.”

Uslan said that no students tested positive during the year. Two students were out of compliance with the policy, but were put back on track. The drug policy does not include punishment, he said. No athletes missed an event throughout the process.

- Incoming Lincoln High Principal outlined some ideas to decrease suspension rates at the school. Ideas ranged from putting cyber bullies into peer mentoring programs instead of automatic suspensions, to reducing punishiment for students that might threaten or initiate to fight but don’t actually fight.  Students caught with tobacco could also be placed in an on-campus drug and alcohol counseling program for six weeks instead of an automatic 3 day suspension, he said. No vote on the ideas, yet.

- Lincoln Unified used all of its $8.4 million of Prop. 30 money for teacher salaries. Remember, Prop 30. is the tax on high income earners. Here’s a pretty good Internet entry on Prop. 30.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

SUSD Live – back to LCAP/signing off

Huntoon joked that she was taking a nap (although, I’m just not sure that Garcia called the item properly to begin with. Instead of asking for a presentation, she only asked for comments).

I’ll have a full story soon on all the LCAP happenings – so won’t spoil that all here.

Signing off to make sure I take good notes. Good night.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment